Pathological liars. They are so obsessed with being seen as interesting!!

Discussion in 'Your Writer's Den' started by Jean F, May 25, 2007.

ATTN: Our forums have moved here! You can still read these forums but if you'd like to participate, mosey on over to the new location.

1. Jean F

Jean F Its still a beautiful world!!

Written by a Psychologist, Quite interesting......

When people ask why people lie, they seldom realize the complexity of the question. My 14-year-old nephew asked me why people lie the other day, and although I have almost thirty years experience in forensic psychology, it took all of my resources to answer this question.
    The truth is, as I told my nephew, that there is no simple reason why people lie, and there isn't even a simple way to say what a lie is. Is an omission a lie?
    Maybe, maybe not, but if it is, it certainly isn't in the same way that a frank statement against fact is a lie. And is flattering someone, pretending that their dress looks better on them than it does for example, a lie? Before we can really answer the question of why people lie, we must be able to answer these questions, and there are no easy answers.

Some people lie because they can't help it, and these are called pathological liars. They are so obsessed with being seen as interesting, unusual, or perhaps different than they are, that they are able and willing to make up the most outrageous stories about their lives, stories that no one will believe, to try to convince them selves that things are different than they really are. Of course, this isn't quite the same reason why people lie in general, but it is close.