allergy shots immunotherapy

Discussion in 'Your Living Room' started by scd, Oct 6, 2006.

ATTN: Our forums have moved here! You can still read these forums but if you'd like to participate, mosey on over to the new location.

1. scd

scd New Member

My ENT has recommended allergy shots. The blood test showed I am allergic to dogs, cats, dust (not dust mites), trees, and 1 mold. Any opinions or experiences?

2. NurseMom

NurseMom New Member

-----------

3. scd

scd New Member

When I went to the ENT he asked me if I had any allergies and I said No. I am rarely sick. No usual symptoms like sneezing, coughing, stuffy nose, etc. He said the inside of my nose showed I probably have allergies. They only did a blood test. I am not fond of the idea of getting a shot once a week. Six weeks ago I began using a nose wash a.m. & p.m., two sprays each nostril of Nasonex and Astelin. Yesterday I began taking 25 mg of hydrochlorothiazide 2 times daily. I am new at this life.

4. ToniG

ToniG Guest

I just had my 4th skin test done on Oct 2; 25 marks in both arms and around 50 in the back. It's the 4th time I've been tested due to moving to different states. I'm happy to say, I've lived in MI,OK,NY,SC,WA,VA,GA and now AZ and this is my least allergic state! I'm just allergic to dust mites and grasses. (snowbirds bring their plants and grasses with them) I've been on shots since 2001, but because of the reduction in allergens; shots are now optional! So I'm just going with the meds; flonase, astelin, zyrtec, and singular. I would definetely ask for a skin test before getting allergy shots.

5. HeadNoise

HeadNoise Invisible Me

I didn't really have any allergy symptoms, but was desperate and grasping at straws...
    Went to allergist, did the skin tests, said I was allergic to dust, mold, dog dander....
    Took shots twice a week in both arms for about a year....
    Didn't see any difference in anything normally related to allergies....