A laboratory fully devoted to Meniere's disease

Discussion in 'Your Living Room' started by AllisonTaylor, Apr 10, 2010.

ATTN: Our forums have moved here! You can still read these forums but if you'd like to participate, mosey on over to the new location.

1. AllisonTaylor

AllisonTaylor New Member

I am a newbie and am posting all over the place at the moment. I come from Melbourne Australia. You may already be aware of this but I thought I would share anyhow that a laboratory, the first of its kind in the world has been set up "fully devoted to research into Ménière’s disease with funds raised by Ménière’s Research Fund Incorporated, and located in The Brain & Mind Research Institute" (at the University of Sydney). Here is the link to Dr Daniel Brown's profile page. He is heading up this research.

http://www.medfac.usyd.edu.au/people/academics/profiles/danielbrown.php

When I contacted Dr Brown last year to find out where he would publish his results he immediately replied with the following info:

From Dr Brown

No cure yet, I'm currently working on diagnostic measurements in humans (which we still need so that we can confirm that you have MD and so we can monitor it's progress). You'll find that there are TONNES of Meniere's websites, with lots and lots of good advice, support and information. I don't yet have my own website, but I'm working on it.
    Unfortunately, there is no one treatment that works for all, and no one treatment that is an actual cure... yet.

If you get involved with "Meniere's Australia" you can keep up to date with my research progress. Understand though that researchers have been investigating Meniere's disease at some level for roughly 100 years. Having said that, ours is the first research laboratory in the world set-up solely for the purpose of researching Meniere's and finding a cure.

Kind regards,
    Daniel Brown, PhD

2. Seattlekidz

Seattlekidz New Member

Interesting. Thanks for sharing!

3. Funshine

Funshine New Member