Xanax

Discussion in 'Your Living Room' started by Ken Glaser, Dec 22, 2009.

ATTN: Our forums have moved here! You can still read these forums but if you'd like to participate, mosey on over to the new location.

1. Ken Glaser

Ken Glaser New Member

Hi everyone and a very happy Christmas to everyone.

I would like to thank you all for what you have done for me this year :). If it wasn't for this web site - well I really appreciate you all.

I went to my ENT today. I have been having very loud tinnitus - like I am standing next to a jet airplane. Anyway, he gave me a good head exam and told me to get off caffein completely and to limit aspirin to 81 mg. He also gave me a prescription for Xanax. I have never used this before so I thought I'd touch base with you all to find out your usage of it. He told me not to drive and that I would likely want to spend time in bed after taking it. He also told me to limit its use to when the noise was the loudest. It is pretty loud right now. In addition, he asked me to get an MRI to check out any possible problems up there. I go in for it tomorrow.

So, I would appreciate any info you may have on this drug.

Ken - Denver

2. dolfan

dolfan Active Member

I love it!

3. yanksgirl

yanksgirl New Member

I take it daily for anxiety due to all this. I'm on a very low dose---0.25 mg. and I can take 2 a day but rarely take more than 1 total (taking 1/2 one at each dose)/
    Read my post here today on depression--that's what I'm dealing with today, more than usual.
    I've had the type of tinnitus you are speaking of and it was 'awful'! That was the worst part and occasionally comes still, but the xanax has helped through that too.
    I hope it helps you. What dosage are you on? It does relax you but on my low dose, rarely do I need to sleep, though it can help with that I know. However, it does cause me to have bad dreams, even nightmares. A tradeoff for getting through the day at times.

4. mikeg

mikeg New Member