Xanax or Valerian?

Discussion in 'Your Living Room' started by rondrums, Jan 26, 2007.

ATTN: Our forums have moved here! You can still read these forums but if you'd like to participate, mosey on over to the new location.

1. rondrums

rondrums Bilateral

Hi, everybody.
    I was at work tonight (I'm a musician at night--a drummer--and a college professor during the day), and ten minutes before the band was going to hit, I got an incredible case of the dizzies. I guess it was the crowded, noisy room and the lights in my eyes.....who knows? Anyway, I glommed down a Xanax. It took about half an hour to kick in, but it did the job--the dizzies were gone.

The stuff is amazing. But I'm totally addicted to it, and I always wonder: It is anxiety that brings on the dizziness, or does the dizziness bring on anxiety? I have a definite Meniere's diagnosis, and I have never had anxiety problems in the past.

There is a strong correlation between anxiety and dizziness. Dr. Jack Wazen, my neurotologist, says in his book that Xanax and other benzodiazepines are good for suppressing dizziness that is brought on by anxiety.
    But at the same time, Xanax is a central nervous system suppressant--it calms down the nerve in the inner ear that is causing the problem.

So what IS the problem? Meniere's is a physiological disorder, not a mental one.
    It's all very confusing to me.
    Meanwhile, I keep scarfing Xanax, and I don't know what I'd do without the stuff. But I hate being addicted to it.

I have read about people who beat the Xanax addiction by substituting Valerian. Has anyone tried this? Does Valerian help suppress dizziness?

Bless all,
    Ron

2. cheese

cheese New Member

Hi ron

I was a professional muso too, but had to give it away because of poor balance .....It's awesome that you're still out there ...keep it up .....I can't wait to gig again. Hopefully it won't be too long.