WTF ?!? How about if I decide when I am disabled?

Discussion in 'Your Living Room' started by Michael, Sep 1, 2009.

ATTN: Our forums have moved here! You can still read these forums but if you'd like to participate, mosey on over to the new location.

1. Michael

Michael New Member

I have an annual physical for my job. I am a safety inspector/expert and I specialize in hazardous waste and power plants. It's been a rewarding and interesting career.

I was diagnosed with MM 3 years ago and this year we have a new MD reviewing the physicals. This is the guy I posted about a few weeks back who saw my audiogram and said "Son, what the hell is wrong with your left ear?" At the time it was funny. I explain to the Dr that I have MM. I get the results back this week and due to MM have several "restrictions" now placed on me. No working at heights, no working in confined spaces, no operating heavy equipment.

Not that I do much of those operations anyway - I am an inspector, but the previous Dr who had reviewed my case for 2 years didn't have an issue with it. And how about this - since I have MM, why don't I decide what I can and can't handle?

Dang. Stay tuned, I will be vigorously pursuing an appeal. I demand a rematch!!!!!

2. Daize

Daize New Member

Hi Michael - I don't understand this, your previous doctor had no problems with you working and you have been managing well from what I read.

Now this doctor tells you all this. As others come along with their input, it will be interesting to see what they think.

I would be very ticked off...grrrrr.

Ruth

3. DKF308

DKF308 New Member

If you can work & know your limits, why can't you work? You know SS Disability will say you can work in any type of a meaningful job whether you can or can't, so if you can work at your normal job, fight for it. I doubt he would stand behind you with SS either. Good luck.

4. nwspin

nwspin New Member