Trying to learn what and how to eat

Discussion in 'Your Lovely Kitchen' started by Jillzie, Nov 2, 2006.

ATTN: Our forums have moved here! You can still read these forums but if you'd like to participate, mosey on over to the new location.

1. Jillzie

Jillzie New Member

New to all of this and have lots of questions. I was wondering when you cook do you cook different for your family or just yourself? I have teenagers and they still want to eat things that I can't(or shouldn't) have. It's hard being on such a schedule to cook different meals. Do any of you have quick pick up things you can eat? My daughter is a cheerleader and so many Friday nights we are rushing to get to ballgames an hour or more away. It is hard to always eat at home. Any suggestions? I am just learning and I am trying really hard but am finding it frustrating because it seems like everything has loads of salt (anything quick anyway!). I also struggle to want to eat right now. I am so fearful of something setting things off and going backwards. Anything would be appreciated. Thanks again you guys and this site have given me some new hope that I will get through this even though it's not fun.

Jillzie

2. Linda1002

Linda1002 New Member

Jillzie -

Don't make it too hard on yourself. Start by reading labels to check the sodium content. Don't add salt to anything. Your family can add their own salt if they choose. There are also a lot of no-salt spices you can use to help spice up your cooking.

Once you get used to doing this, then you can try cooking with more fresh veggies, etc.

In this kitchen section you will find all kinds of tips.

By the way, as a general rule we eat foods with too much salt, including non-Menierians. It's a good idea to adjust diets of all family members to be more healthy.

Good luck!

3. TracyInIndy

TracyInIndy Guest

Jillzie,

For those times when you just have to eat out because of schedule. I got these tips from my doctor.