Reluctantly joining the ranks

Discussion in 'Your Living Room' started by etlani, Oct 9, 2006.

ATTN: Our forums have moved here! You can still read these forums but if you'd like to participate, mosey on over to the new location.

1. etlani

etlani New Member

Hi everyone!

I'm a newbie here and have spent a few days reading through a lot of your posts before saying my official "Hey". I must say that I have some mixed emotions after reading all that you all have to say-- I'm so thankful to have found a group of caring people that UNDERSTANDS and that I can talk to, although my heart just hurts for all of you going through such hardship--symptoms much worse than I experience. But, that's also the scary part--are these the things that may be in store for me?

Here's my short version. I've had tinnitus in my right ear for almost five years--worse in winter. It comes and goes--my ear rings for a few weeks, then quits for a week or two, then rings again. I had a few dizzy spells, mostly mild, but after one that was worse than the others, my doctor finally referred me to an ENT. I went, found out that I had a hearing loss in that ear, and was given a tenative Meniere's diagnosis. I went back a month later, and he put me on diuretics, and told me to come back. I kept to my low-salt diet and medication for a few months, and I stopped playing guitar on the Worship Team at church. I also decided that I couldn't have this disease because my dizziness wasn't bad enough, and that maybe it was just the loud music from practice and church service that was making my ear ring. Then, as if to clarify my self-diagnosis, I stayed symptom-free for over a year.