New Poster w/ a-typical meniere's with a request for comment (Sorry long post)

Discussion in 'Your Living Room' started by ring, Apr 15, 2014.

ATTN: Our forums have moved here! You can still read these forums but if you'd like to participate, mosey on over to the new location.

1. ring

ring New Member

Hi everyone. I am a Newbie and found this forum. A lot of great information. And I want to say thank you in advance for all the support and advice the posters give on this board.

I have been wanting to post since last week, but it took me a while to get my username approved. I want to relate my story and then ask a specific question that some of those readers with Cochlear Hydrops (a-typical Meniere’s) may be able to answer. As I had an “event” that seemed to fall outside what should have happened clinically.

So my story.
    • 1. I was already deaf in the right ear from a schwanoma removed 5 years ago.
      2. On February 10, after feeling some slight pressure, I lost significant hearing in my left ear. I went to the ER and they diagnosed SSHL, which many posters know is serious but can be caused by an autoimmune reaction to a virus. I was put on Prednisone.
      3. Hearing improved a little over the next two days. I followed up with an Ontologist and he said maybe get a steroid injection, but it would be $7000.
      4. I went and got a referral from my PCP, and saw another Ontologist the next day, February 13. Thank goodness because I had now gotten much worse, with little volume and major speech recognition issues. I received a steroid injection. Prescription changed to DEXAMETHASONE 4 MG TABLET 4x, Anti Virals and Diuretic. And follow low sodium regimen
      5. By February 14, I had lost all speech recognition. (And when I say no speech recognition, I mean my wife could try to speak directly into my ear and understand nothing.) The physician was suggesting Cochlear Implants right out of the box.