NEED ADVICE, FACTORY WORK ?

Discussion in 'Your Living Room' started by marlyn56, Oct 4, 2006.

ATTN: Our forums have moved here! You can still read these forums but if you'd like to participate, mosey on over to the new location.

1. marlyn56

marlyn56 New Member

HI, I'M A NEWBIE. 6 WEEKS AGO I FOUND OUT I HAD MM. I'M ON MEDICAL LEAVE RIGHT NOW. I'M ON A LOW SALT DIET, DIURETIC AND XANAX. I FEEL PRETTY GOOD MOST DAYS WITH MILD DIZZY FEELINGS, I'VE HAD RINGING IN MY EARS FOR 4 YEARS. I WANT TO GO BACK TO WORK AND SEE IF I CAN KEEP UP AND STILL DO THE WORK. AT LEAST RUN OUT MY FMLA, IF I CAN'T. MY DR. WANTS ME TO GO ON DISIABILITY. BUT FOR ME, THATS NOT ENOUGH MONEY TO LIVE ON. I'M SO CONFUSSED AND AFRAID. HAS ANYONE OUT THERE BEEN ABLE TO CONTINUE TO WORK IN A FACTORY ENVIRONMENT WITH MM ? MARLYN56

2. rev

rev New Member

Marlyn,
    Sorry to find that you are in this boat with us! Everyone of us is different and many (maybe most) continue to be able to function at their job. Don't automatically think that this disease ends your career. The frequency of episodes and many other factors all contribute to how functional you will be. I'm a little surprised that the doctor is making a recommendation when there are other meds to try, other procedures that are possible.

Don't give up until you have exhausted all avenues of treatment. Hopefully the "database" can give you some options that you haven't yet tried.

3. cheese

cheese New Member

I agree with rev.

It seems strange that a doctor would recommend disability just 6 weeks into diagnosis.

My pop had menieres since he was about 30 and worked till he was 65 in a factory. Barely missed a day. Everyone is different

4. gerg

gerg New Member

Thats correct1
    Marlyn
    You are probably the best judge of your capablilities.
    I operate machinary and needed to take 1 month off
    during the worst phase of md. gradually I became more
    able to cope.