good source of info, especially for newbies

Discussion in 'Meniere's Disease "Database"' started by tucker, Mar 5, 2007.

ATTN: Our forums have moved here! You can still read these forums but if you'd like to participate, mosey on over to the new location.

1. tucker

tucker The Meniere's DVD Guy!

2. annegina

annegina New Member

Danny-

Thank you so much!! I'm not a newbie and I havent seen this site before. Very interesting!

3. John of Ohio

John of Ohio New Member

As expert as this site might be, it misses a number of promising MM developments, particularly the involvement of both herpes viruses and allgergies as causative agents. The site has a 2004 date, so it's a bit out of date. And it's posted by a physician, who may not be aware of (or support) new MM therapies.

The Meniett device is mentioned, as it should be. But there is very strong data from Japan that the control of herpes viruses with acyclovir (or other antiherpetic drugs) can significantly or completely reduce MM symptoms. The involvement of wheat and other food alllergies as a MM factor has been described on this board in detail by several posters.

Of course, there is no mention of my MM regimen (http://www.menieresfoundation.org/johnsregimen.htm) and the very frequently effective use of lemon bioflavonoids, vinpocetine, Vertigoheel, and other agents in the regimen against MM symptoms.

And of course, there has just recently been a lengthy discourse on this board of a chiropractic approach to MM.

Except for therapists restricted to older medical textbook approaches, it's not just salt restriction, diuretics, sedatives, and the Meniett anymore.

--John of Ohio

4. tucker

tucker The Meniere's DVD Guy!

John

you are right, but it is a good basic page of info to start with, especially when you just been dx. I like the part where they list what to do when having a rotational attack.

5. thornapple

thornapple New Member